multiply sclerosed











{May 20, 2012}   Heat intolerance and the art of keep my cool

One of the little know and most seriously sucky symptoms of MS is my severe heat intolerance. I can go from fine, to burning with all the fires of hell in a matter of seconds. Last week, while at open house for my daughters I went into a full on bitch of a panic attack, we were waiting outside for the girls and G-parents to catch up, and I lost it. I was a little tea-pot and I was shouting. I could not think straight, couldn’t talk to people, my heart was racing and I was fighting tears. I was over-heated. I learned that day to always carry icy cold drinks, find the shade, and don’t push myself to that brink. So we purchased more fans, I sleep underneath one every night, I have frozen water bottles in the freezer, ready to go when I am heading out the door, and a smoothie habit that may require an intervention. I have started swimming, which such a great way to keep my core temperature down, however sometimes my head is too sensitive and I can’t stand the cold water on it…..seriously!!  The other and most important bit of melt-down prevention that I have learned is to speak up. I can feel when I am losing it, my legs become jello and my brain turns into cream of wheat. So I ask for a cold drink, find a place to sit and breathe. It passes relatively quick, but it can seem like an eternity when you are trying to keep yourself from crossing to the dark side. I have been blessed to be surrounded by people, who while they admit they don’t understand, but who are willing and ready to hep me with what ever obstacle I may be trying to navigate. And there have been many, and I have no doubt there are more to come. Multiple Sclerosis has been a learning experience and will continue to be until we cure it. The best I can do is research, talk to other patients and family members, take my meds and hope to stay ahead of the symptom curve.

And another Conga Lime smoothie from Juice it Up wouldn’t hurt either.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
